38th Juried Annual Exhibition Opens at Miller Art Museum, Nov 9

The Miller Art Museum will be flooded with color and variety when the 38th Juried Annual Exhibition opens Saturday, November 9 with fifty-six works by fifty-one artists.

Catch the Wave at Cave Point, oil by Roxanne-Hanney

Catch the Wave at Cave Point, oil by Roxanne Hanney

A reception will be held that afternoon from 3 – 4:30 pm for the artists, their guests, and the public; the seven cash awards will be presented at 3:30 pm. A review of the show by Sister Bay artist and teacher Craig Blietz will be held on Thursday, December 5. The exhibition is sponsored by Dennis and Bonnie Connolly, Miriam Erickson, Ruth Ann Ibach, Roberta Nauman, Camilla Nielsen, and Bill and Betty Parsons, and it continues through December 28.  A unique Holiday Gift Shop also opens, filled with big and small items for gift giving.

Landscape is an especially well represented subject in this year’s exhibition, including many recognizable Door County locations such as Jackson Harbor, Cana Island, Cave Point and Heins Creek.  Subjects from the wider world range from children of Nicaragua to the English Cotswolds. Everything in between can be found, from the family cat to an artist’s favorite sushi chef.  Art media included are diverse, with pastel, encaustic, painting, drawing and photography represented.

This is a competitive exhibition. Artists from the five counties of Door, Brown, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, and Oconto were invited to enter.  Ninety-one responded with one hundred and seventy two-dimensional entries to be reviewed by this year’s jury.  Each artist submitted up to two works in their choice of painting, drawing, printmaking, and photography.  After a full day of consideration, the jury made its selections and chose three works to receive Special Merit Awards. Three additional pieces will be honored with a Juror’s Choice Award, selected as an individual juror’s favorite.  This year’s jurors were Donna Brown, artist and teacher from Baileys Harbor, Denise Presnell-Weidner, artist and Associate Professor of Art at Lakeland College, Sheboygan, and Bill Weidner, artist and Associate Professor of Art at Lakeland College, Sheboygan.

The qualities jurors looked for is expressed by Presnell-Weidner, “I looked for competency with the medium, dynamic composition, sensitivity to color and light or a unique approach either in composition or use of the medium.”

The Gerhard Miller Award of Excellence will also be announced at the exhibit reception.  Selected by the Miller Art Museum’s staff, the award recognizes excellence in honor of the museum’s founder.  Accompanying the award is the Gerhard Miller medal created by Hermke Timm from an image by James J. Ingwersen, and manufactured and donated by Mint Masters, Inc.

Hours are Monday, 10 am – 8 pm.  Tuesday through Saturday 10 am – 5 pm.  The Museum is located at 107 S. 4th Avenue, Sturgeon Bay.
For further information call  920.746.0707, e-mail bmam@dcwis.com, or visit www.MillerArtMuseum.org.

Related Posts

About The Author